I thought I’d cut out my chitterchatter and go for a more fashion feel on today’s post.

I’m cutting out the bit which is usually a preamble ramble by which point I’d over analyze the pros and cons of writing a blog post about fashion when maybe you know about as much about fashion as you do about trench warfare yes that was the first analogy that came to mind so leave it yeah?  

So what I’ve been deeply contemplating this week is the LBD, I WANT IT I NEED IT AND I WILL NOT REST UNTIL I HAVE IT.

The Christmas season is coming up and if I’m led to believe what my mandatory magazine reading tells me then I frankly am a fool for not already having this seemingly key peice in my wardrobe. Shocking I know right.

So speaking from the view of my poor rather dilapidated purse I’m going to be a rather thrifty this season and buy one dress and THAT IS IT and then hopefully try to squeeze as many different outfits as physically possible from it. The Ultimate Festive Challenge!!!

So I’m off on my journey to find the perfect dress, it needs to be dressy enough to wear it on a special Christmas occasion, but also not to fancy so I won’t feel too overdressed on your standard grimey student night out clubbing, and maybe just maybe it’ll be suitable to dress down with flats for a nice trip to the pub… where I intend to spend most of my Christmas evenings. Now I’m not asking too much Am I? 

This dress first caught my eye in company magazine, and I’m not going to lie I think Pixie Lott is a beautiful human being and being the gullible person I am if you put a celebs name next to an item I’m going to buy it in the hope that it will magically turn me into said celeb. I kid you not I read an article about Eliza Dolittle and it said she used Aussie Shampoo and before you could say G’day mate I was on my way down to Superdrug to get myself some curl defining serum.

But anyway this Dress is from Lipsy sometimes I find Lipsy dresses can go one of two ways and they can be a bit too short and garish but most of the time I have a lot of Lipsy love particularly for the Pixie Lott collection, she is a goddess. I figured this dress would look swellagent not only with my favourite heels for dressed up but maybe also with my old trusty leather jacket for a more dressed down studenty night out.

My next find was from River Island. Again I have a tendency to fall in and out of love with a lot of high street shops as my boy Shakespeare did say frailty thy name is woman  my main qualm with River Island is whenever I have enough money to go in there I never see anything that catches my eye but when my purse is as empty as a dessert well I see a million things I want. Of course that’s my fault not River Island’s anyway I digress.

What caught my eye about this little number is it ticks all the right boxes for me.

  • Fitted without being too bodycon-esque which a lot of the LBD styles seem to going for. In theory a body-con dress is a great idea it hugs in all the right places but after one too many pints of cider and Christmas nibbles you’re carrying a food baby and no longer feeling sexy and svelte like you did when you first put the dress on.
  • I’m a massive fan of the sixties and seventies style around at the moment so the shift floaty bottom to this is also winning my heart.
  • Little bit of glitz and glam around the collar with the embellishment around the neck, originally I avoided the LBD because it just seemed way too plain but this adds just a nice bit of sparkle.
  • I also liked the cut out detailing which again makes it stand out a bit, I’ve been seeing a lot of cut-out, mesh covered, styled dresses around and for me it’s been a bit too revealing especially around the waist and cleveage area. I’m not all about flashing unnecessary bits at passers by even if they are covered by mesh or lace thankyou very much. So this dress has just the right amount of detailing in my eyes.
So these are the two dresses I’ve found I could continue there’s an awful lot of nice stuff out there but frankly if I look at any more dresses I can’t afford I will end up crying myself to sleep.
Stay toon-ed for which dress I pick, no doubt there will be a joyous post about it.
Big love.
xxx

 


Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

